Fight Your Bad Checks Charge in New Jersey
Arrested in NJ for Back Checks? I Can Help!
If you find yourself arrested or charged with bad checks in New
Jersey, you should understand that there is help out there, and
someone who will fight for your interests. If you made a simple
mistake, or made a bad judgment at a seemingly desperate time, that
doesn't mean you deserve a harsh punishment or a permanent criminal
record. Yet that is what you are facing if you don't have an
attorney on your side - someone who cares about what happens to you,
and is there to protect your interests.
If you are unfairly accused, I am fully prepared to fight the charges,
investigate the case, and challenge any alleged evidence the state has against
And bad checks cases can be beaten, or charges reduced in many cases.
If they can't prove under the law that you intended to defraud a person by
passing a bad check, you should be found not guilty.
What does NJ Law Say about Bad Checks?
According to New Jersey Law, cashing a bad check means a person tries to pass
a check knowing that there isn’t enough money in the account to cover the
amount of the check. A person can be said to have known about the lack of
funds if the account was closed prior to the check or if the person who wrote
the check doesn’t fix the overdrawn balance of the account within 10 days after
(See New Jersey criminal law sec. 21-5)
Is Cashing a Bad Check a Big Deal?
Although cashing a bad check may not have seemed like it was a very big deal
at the time, a conviction of a bad check crime can be very bad for your future.
I have helped many people who have bad check charges fight their charges or
negotiate a good deal so these charges wouldn’t destroy their futures. If you
call me for a free consultation I can help you too. We will review your
individual case and determine the best way to proceed to get you the best
What Are the Penalties for Bad Checks Under New Jersey Criminal Laws?
If the amount of the check was less than $200 it is a disorderly
person’s offense which can result in up to six months jail, a fine of up to
$1,000, restitution in the amount of the bad check(s), community service and/or
If the amount of the bad check was between $200 and $999 it is a
fourth degree charge which could result in up to 18 months in prison.
If the amount of the bad check was between $1,000 and $74,999 it is a
third degree charge which could result in up to 5 years in prison.
If the amount of the bad check was $75,000 or more it is a second
degree charge which could result in up to 10 years in prison.
If you have any prior criminal history, that can play an important role in
the sentence you would receive if you are convicted of a bad check charge. It’s
important that you give me the chance to look at your specific case so I can
help you determine your exposure and advise you of what your next steps should
Free Criminal Defense Legal
Consultation and Case Evaluation on Bad Checks Offenses
I'll be happy to give you a consultation for no charge, and no
obligation. So you
have nothing to lose -- and you will have the opportunity to learn your rights and
options under New Jersey criminal laws.
Please contact me to discuss your New Jersey bad checks charge, at my offices in
Freehold, NJ. (888) 628-8394 or locally at (732) 625-9660. Call now for a free, no-obligation criminal defense
Jersey Criminal Defense Lawyer - Freehold, NJ