Don't Let a New Jersey Criminal Sexual Contact Charge Ruin Your
Fight your NJ Criminal Sexual Contact Charge with a Strong Legal Defense!
If you've been arrested for a sex offense like criminal sexual
contact in New Jersey, you know that you are facing
serious criminal penalties and life consequences if found guilty.
In addition to any legal consequences, you are up
against the stigma associated with a sex crime. Now more than ever, you
need someone on your side working to get you the best results possible.
Long before you have your day in court, you will deal with negative
consequences of a charge like sexual contact. Sex offenses carry some of
the heaviest stigma, and people who you may have once thought of as your
friends could abandon you when you need them the most.
In Section 2C:14 of the New Jersey Code, sexual contact is defined
Intentional touching by the victim or actor, either directly or
through clothing, of the victim’s or actor’s intimate parts for the
purpose of degrading or humiliating the victim or sexually arousing or
sexually gratifying the actor.
In this law, “intimate parts” refers to the genitals or genital area,
inner thigh, groin, buttock or the breasts.
This means you could be charged with this crime if you are accused of touching
yourself in a sexual manner in front of someone, or if you touch someone
through their clothing on their buttocks in order to humiliate them.
Really, there are countless different scenarios that could lead to a
charge like this.
New Jersey Criminal Sexual Contact - Penalties
The penalty you face for a conviction of sexual contact depends on
the precise facts of the case.
You could be charged with aggravated sexual contact, a crime in the
3rd degree, if:
- The victim is under the age of
16 but over 13,
- The victim is under your care as a
guardian, teacher, or supervisor,
- You are armed when it occurs,
- You are aided by another person,
- You use physical force or
- The victim is handicapped or
physically helpless, or
- If it is committed during the
commission of another serious offense.
Aggravated sexual contact is punishable by up to 5 years in prison
If you commit sexual contact but it does not fall under the
requirements for aggravated sexual contact, a regular charge of criminal
sexual contact is a
crime of the 4th degree and face up to 18 months in prison if convicted.
In addition to possible prison time, sexual contact is a registerable
offense. This means you will be required to
register as a sex offender
indefinitely, forever scarring you with the sex offender label.
All criminal charges are serious criminal charges. But sex offenses
like criminal sexual contact can carry consequences that last forever,
not only taking you away from your life, but permanently damaging
relationships and your reputation.
If you are charged with criminal sexual contact or aggravated sexual
contact, I may be able to help. From vehemently defending you at trial
to negotiating a potentially favorable plea agreement, we can work
together to potentially minimize the effects of this charge on your
If we can work out a way to get charges reduced from a sex offense to
a lesser charge that doesn't include sex offender registration, that is
often a good outcome.
Free Criminal Defense Legal
Consultation on NJ Sex Offense Charges
I can offer you a free legal consultation
on any criminal sexual contact or other New Jersey charge. I will
talk to you either in person or over the phone. So you
have nothing to lose by calling -- and you'll learn exactly what your rights and
best options are.
Take advantage of my offer to talk directly to a New Jersey defense attorney who has
represented people just like you countless times before. And
as I said, if you decide not to hire me to
represent you, you've lost nothing, and our talk is still completely
Please call me to discuss your New Jersey sexual assault or
lewdness charge, at my offices in
Freehold, NJ. (888) 628-8394.
Matthew Reisig, Attorney at Law
Jersey Criminal Defense Lawyer - Freehold, NJ