Don't let a New Jersey Criminal Arrest Ruin Your Life!
Accused of Leaving the Scene of an Accident in New Jersey?
Leaving the Scene of an Accident falls under the New
Jersey Criminal Law "Action in Case of Accident", and is a
Penalties for leaving the scene or an accident can be serious,
especially if there is an injury involved.
New Jersey Leaving the Scene Penalties
The penalties for leaving the scene under New Jersey Laws (39:4-129)
are as follows:
If the accident results in serious bodily injury or death to another
person, it is a forth (4th) degree crime, with penalties of:
- Prison up to 6 months.
- $500-$1000 fine (up to $2000 for 2nd Offense)
- 1 year license suspension (Permanent revocation for 2nd Offense)
If the accident results in only vehicle or property damage:
- Prison up to 1 month (3 months for Second Offense)
- $200-$400 fine (up to $600 for a Second Offense)
- 6 month license suspension (1 year suspension for Second Offense)
A criminal defense strategy for a charge of leaving the scene would
likely be based on the identification. The prosecution must have strong
evidence or unambiguous witness testimony to prove that you were the
person who committed this act. I will challenge the District Attorney to
establish these facts beyond a reasonable doubt.
There may also be opportunities for working out a deal, especially if
restitution is involved and agreeable to both parties.
Free Legal Consultation
If you've been accused of Leaving the Scene of an Accident or
Property/Vehicle Damage in New Jersey, call me for a free consultation,
and I'll be happy to give you the advice you need, and answer your
questions about the charge you're facing.
I am in different NJ courts every day,
defending my clients rights and freedom on many different criminal
charges. If you've been arrested and are facing criminal
charges in New Jersey, call for a free consultation now.
(888) 628-8394 or locally at (732) 625-9660