Leaving the Scene of an Accident Defense Attorney in New Jersey
Have You Been Accused of Leaving the Scene of an Accident in NJ?
Consult An Experienced Leaving the Scene of an Accident Defense Attorney in New Jersey Today!
Leaving the Scene of an Accident falls under the New Jersey Criminal Law “Action in Case of Accident”, and is a criminal offense that requires the experience of a Leaving the Scene of an Accident Defense Attorney in New Jersey.
Penalties for leaving the scene of an accident can be serious depending upon the circumstances, especially if there is an injury involved.
New Jersey Leaving the Scene Penalties
The penalties for leaving the scene under New Jersey Laws (39:4-129) are as follows:
If the accident results in serious bodily injury or death to another person, it is a forth (4th) degree crime, with penalties of:
- Prison up to 6 months.
- $500-$1000 fine (up to $2000 for 2nd Offense)
- 1 year license suspension (Permanent revocation for 2nd Offense)
If the accident results in only vehicle or property damage:
- Prison up to 1 month (3 months for Second Offense)
- $200-$400 fine (up to $600 for a Second Offense)
- 6 month license suspension (1 year suspension for Second Offense)
A criminal defense strategy for a charge of leaving the scene would likely be based on the identification. The prosecution must have strong evidence or unambiguous witness testimony to prove that you were the person who committed this act.
As an experienced Leaving the Scene of an Accident Defense Attorney in New Jersey, I will challenge the District Attorney to establish these facts beyond a reasonable doubt.
There may also be opportunities for working out a deal, especially if restitution is involved and agreeable to both parties.
Free Legal Consultation With A Skilled Leaving the Scene of an Accident Defense Attorney in New Jersey
If you’ve been accused of Leaving the Scene of an Accident or Property/Vehicle Damage in New Jersey, call me for a free consultation, and I’ll be happy to give you the advice you need, and answer your questions about the charge you’re facing.
I am in different NJ courts every day, defending my clients rights and freedom on many different criminal charges. If you’ve been arrested and are facing criminal charges in New Jersey, call for a free consultation now.
(888) 628-8394 or locally at (732) 625-9660