Juvenile Alcohol Possession Charges Defense Attorney in New Jersey
Has Your Child Been Arrested and Charged With Underage Drinking in NJ?
Consult An Experienced Juvenile Alcohol Possession Defense Attorney in New Jersey Today!
Police arrest people for possession or consuming alcohol while under the legal age of 21 every day. An underage drinking charge in New Jersey should be taken seriously, since a conviction can negatively impact your life in many ways. This can impact your future, so it’s important to work with a Juvenile Alcohol Possession Defense Attorney in New Jersey.
If you are a parent of a child who has been charged with a minor alcohol charge, you’ll want to understand how a conviction may impact your child’s life and future. It makes sense to consult with a defense attorney so you understand the potential risks and what options you may have.
NJ Underage Alcohol Penalties
Possession or consumption of alcohol by someone under the legal age is a disorderly persons offense, with a maximum penalty of up to 6 months in jail if found guilty.
More typically, you are facing fines of at least $500, enrollment in a alcohol program and/or probation.
Also, if the underage alcohol consumption happens in a car or motor vehicle, you are facing a license suspension of 6 months, or even longer if the defendant is under 17.
How to Defend a Minor Alcohol Possession/Consumption Charge
From a legal defense perspective, how I would defend an underage alcohol possession charge depends on both the specific facts of the case and evidence against you, but also the potential impact of the penalties on the accused. The goal is often to negotiate a sentence that will minimize the impact on a young person’s life and future opportunities. A charge on your record may limit future educational, scholarship or job opportunities.
Of course, if I think the case is weak and the police don’t have the evidence to support the charge and a conviction, it obviously will make sense to fight and work for a dismissal or a not guilty.
The official statute is 2C:33-15, entitled possession, consumption of alcoholic beverages by persons under legal age; penalty.
I am in different NJ courts every day, defending my clients rights and freedom on a wide variety of criminal and traffic charges. As a Juvenile Alcohol Possession Defense Attorney in New Jersey I have the knowledge and experience to help you out of your difficult situation. Call me to find out what you can do, and how I can help.
Matthew Reisig, Attorney at Law