Don't Let a New Jersey Arson Charge Ruin Your
Defend Yourself Against Arson Charges in New Jersey
with an Experienced Criminal Defense Lawyer!
Arson is a very serious charge, and you could be facing considerable jail
time under New Jersey arson laws if you are found guilty.
I'm sure you are scared about what may happen to you. Don't wait to take
action on your defense! Don't let fear hold you back from acting now. The
earlier an attorney can get to work on your defense, the more options you will
have to fight the charges.
Aggravated Arson is defined under NJ law as starting a fire
- which knowingly or purposefully places a person in danger of
injury or death;
- to deliberately destroy a structure or building;
- in order to collect insurance or payment; or
- to exempt or avoid building or zoning laws; or
- to destroy or damage forest.
Arson is defined as if you act recklessly in the acts
listed above, but not deliberately.
There is also a related charge of failure to control or report a
dangerous fire if you do not take reasonable care to control a fire
that you legally started.
Arson Penalties in New Jersey
Aggravated Arson is a crime of the 2nd degree with a
maximum penalty of 10 years in prison.
Arson is a crime of the 3rd degree, with a maximum
penalty of 5 years in prison.
If you pay or offer other considerations in exchange for the actions
described in the arson laws, it is a crime of the 1st degree with a
penalty of up to 20 years in prison.
There is a mandatory prison term if you are involved in the arson of a
doctors office or health care facility.
Failure to control or report a dangerous fire is a crime of
the 4th degree, for which the maximum penalty is up to 18 months in
The statute for New Jersey arson laws is N.J.S.C. 2C:17-1.
a Free, Legal
Consultation on a New Jersey Arson Charge
I know you are worried about such a serious charge. Call me to talk
about your case, and I'll tell you what I can do to help you get
through this difficult time. I can offer you a free legal consultation
either in person or over the phone. You
have nothing to lose by calling -- and you will learn exactly what your rights and
options are. I'm a New Jersey defense attorney
represented people just like you accused of serious crimes many times before. Give me a
call, and I'll let you know if I can help. If you decide not to hire me to
represent you, it's only cost you an hour of your time.
Remember, you have the presumption of innocence under the law, and
that is a powerful advantage.
Please call me to discuss a charge of arson or any other criminal
charge in New Jersey. My office is in
Freehold, NJ. (888) 628-8394 or locally at (732) 625-9660. Call now for a free, no-obligation criminal defense
Jersey Criminal Defense Lawyer - Freehold, NJ