Driving Without Insurance Charges Criminal Defense Attorney In NJ
Have You Been Cited For Driving Without Insurance? Consult An Experienced Driving Without Insurance Defense Lawyer In New Jersey Today To Protect Your Rights!
Driving without insurance is treated as a very serious crime in NJ, and you are facing harsh penalties. A good defense requires an skillful, experienced Driving Without Insurance Defense Lawyer In New Jersey.
A paperwork mishap, a change of address, a mistake by your insurance company, failure by your spouse to pay the bill, or other innocent situation that caused your insurance to lapse.
Since the penalties for conviction or pleading guilty are very severe, it often makes sense to fight the charges to give yourself a chance to avoid the significant costs in fines and insurance surcharges. I’m a highly skilled Driving Without Insurance Defense Lawyer In New Jersey – Call me for a free consultation, and I’ll help you work through which legal options make sense for you.
NJ Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
The penalties for driving without insurance in New Jersey are:
- First offense: Up to $1000 fine; community service; DMV surcharges of $250 for 3 years; 9 insurance points
- Second offense: Up to $5000 fine; mandatory jail sentence of 14 days; 30 days community service; license suspension for 2 years or more;
Some judges will waive the community service in first offense cases.
Defenses to Driving without Auto Liability Insurance/Uninsured Driver in New Jersey
There are several different defense strategies to fight an uninsured driver charge. I’ll study the facts of your situation and analyze the details of what may have happened with your insurance company to determine exactly what happened, and how to best argue your innocence. Some important questions and defenses are:
- Was their previously insurance that was cancelled incorrectly by the insurance company?
- Are you the owner of the car and legally responsible for insuring it in NJ?
- Can the state prove each and every element of the crime – that you knowingly drove a car registered or principally garaged in New Jersey without having insurance?
As a Driving Without Insurance Defense Lawyer In New Jersey, I can also challenge the vehicle stop if the police did not have probable cause to pull you over in the first place.
It is important that you get an experienced lawyer if you hope to beat the charges or minimize the damage and penalties. A lot depends on the municipal court where the case happens, and the judge you face. Some judges are more agreeable to certain arguments or lenient than others. Hiring a lawyer who knows how the process works may end up saving you money in reduced penalties, fines, surcharges, and suspensions. Don’t risk trying it yourself.
Call me anytime to talk about your driving without insurance charge or any other New Jersey traffic incident, and I’ll let you know what I can do to help.
I am in different New Jersey criminal and traffic courts every day, defending my clients rights and freedom to drive on charges, including driving without insurance. If you’re facing these or other traffic or criminal charges in New Jersey, call me for a free consultation now.
(888) 628-8394 or locally at (732) 625-9660
Driving Without Liability Insurance (N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2)