On a first offense, no, but if you’re caught a second time, you face up to 14 days in jail.
As a first offender, you’ll still face fines up to $1000, a license suspension of up to a year, and community service to be determined by the court.
There are defenses to driving without insurance. In some cases, an insurer will improperly cancel a policy without notifying the driver.
The prosecution must prove that you knew, or reasonably should have known, that your vehicle was uninsured.
In fighting the case, showing a consistent record of payments for your policy can be powerful evidence that you had every reason to believe that your vehicle was covered.
The prosecution must also show that your vehicle is principally garaged and registered in New Jersey.
If you’re an out of state driver from a locale with different standards, you have a defense against conviction.
Your best choice is to work with an experienced attorney who knows how to defend against driving without insurance charges.
Matthew Reisig protects clients everywhere in New Jersey. Call 732-625-9661 for a free consultation today.