Sexual Contact Defense Attorney in New Jersey
Have You Been Arrested For Sexual Contact? Find Out What’s Going To Happen, The Penalties You Face & What A Pro Can Do To Help You
If you’ve been arrested for a sex offense like criminal sexual contact (2C:14-3b) in New Jersey, you know that you are facing serious criminal penalties and life consequences if found guilty. Therefore, you need a professional Sexual Contact Defense Lawyer in New Jersey right away to fight these accusations!
In addition to any legal consequences for sexual contact charges, you are up against the stigma associated with a sex crime. Now more than ever, you need someone on your side working to get you the best results possible.
Long before you have your day in court, you will deal with negative consequences of a charge like sexual contact. Sex offenses carry some of the heaviest stigma, and people who you may have once thought of as your friends could abandon you when you need them the most.
In Section 2C:14 of the New Jersey Code, sexual contact is defined as:
Intentional touching by the victim or actor, either directly or through clothing, of the victim’s or actor’s intimate parts for the purpose of degrading or humiliating the victim or sexually arousing or sexually gratifying the actor.
In this law, “intimate parts” refers to the genitals or genital area, inner thigh, groin, buttock or the breasts.
This means you could be charged with this crime if you are accused of touching yourself in a sexual manner in front of someone, or if you touch someone through their clothing on their buttocks in order to humiliate them. Really, there are countless different scenarios that could lead to a charge like this.
New Jersey Criminal Sexual Contact – Penalties
The penalty you face for a conviction of sexual contact depends on the precise facts of the case.
You could be charged with aggravated sexual contact (2C:14-3a), a crime in the 3rd degree, if:
- The victim is under the age of 16 but over 13,
- The victim is under your care as a guardian, teacher, or supervisor,
- You are armed when it occurs,
- You are aided by another person,
- You use physical force or coercion
- The victim is handicapped or physically helpless, or
- If it is committed during the commission of another serious offense.
Aggravated sexual contact is punishable by up to 5 years in prison upon conviction.
If you commit sexual contact but it does not fall under the requirements for aggravated sexual contact, a regular charge of criminal sexual contact is a crime of the 4th degree and face up to 18 months in prison if convicted.
In addition to possible prison time, sexual contact is a registerable offense. This means you will be required to register as a sex offender indefinitely, forever scarring you with the sex offender label.
All criminal charges are serious criminal charges. But sex offenses like criminal sexual contact can carry consequences that last forever, not only taking you away from your life, but permanently damaging relationships and your reputation.
If you are charged with criminal sexual contact or aggravated sexual contact, I may be able to help. From vehemently defending you at trial to negotiating a potentially favorable plea agreement, we can work together to potentially minimize the effects of this charge on your life. I am a highly experienced Sexual Contact Defense Lawyer in New Jersey- let me use my experience to help you!
If we can work out a way to get charges reduced from a sex offense to a lesser charge that doesn’t include sex offender registration, that is often a good outcome.
Free Criminal Defense Legal Consultation with a Sexual Contact Defense Lawyer in New Jersey
I can offer you a free legal consultation on any criminal sexual contact or other New Jersey charge. I will talk to you either in person or over the phone. So you have nothing to lose by calling — and you’ll learn exactly what your rights and best options are.
Take advantage of my offer to talk directly to a Sexual Contact Defense Lawyer in New Jersey who has represented people just like you countless times before. And as I said, if you decide not to hire me to represent you, you’ve lost nothing, and our talk is still completely confidential.
Please call me to discuss your New Jersey sexual assault or lewdness charge, at my offices in Freehold, NJ. (888) 628-8394.
Matthew Reisig, Attorney at Law
New Jersey Criminal Defense Lawyer – Freehold, NJ