New Jersey Criminal Defense Lawyer For Those Arrested On Criminal Sexual Contact (2C:14-3b)
Criminal Sexual Contact (2C:14-3b) in New Jersey applies when the defendant is accused of committing an act of sexual contact with a victim and any of the following circumstances are true:
- Physical force or coercion are used, but the victim does not sustain severe injuries;
- The victim is on probation, parole, or detained in a hospital, prison, or other institution, and the defendant has supervisory or disciplinary power over the victim;
- The victim is between 13 and 16 years of age and the defendant is at least four years older;
- The victim is between 16 and 18 and a third degree relative of the defendant, a subordinate of the defendant, or the defendant is a legal guardian for the victim.
Criminal Sexual Contact is a crime of the fourth degree, which carries a potential sentence of 18 months and a fine of up to $10,000.
You’ll carry a felony record for a sexual offense, and if the victim was a minor, you’ll be required to register as a sex offender.
You need experienced legal help that can get in front of this matter and preserve your reputation while fighting for your freedom.
Call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal sexual contact defense attorney.