Assault Charges – New Jersey Criminal Defense Lawyer
Protect Yourself From Assault Charges With An Experienced Assault Criminal Defense Lawyer In New Jersey!
If you’ve been arrested for assault, you know what a traumatic time you are going through. The criminal justice system can be terrifying and overwhelming when you are a defendant caught up in the system. An experienced assault criminal defense lawyer In New Jersey on your side will not just protect your legal rights, but also give you some peace of mind that there is someone on your side to protect and help you through a difficult time in your life.
In New Jersey, Assault and related crimes are serious criminal charges and can have severe penalties and consequences if not handled properly. A prompt and vigorous defense strategy can often significantly reduce or eliminate the risk of serious criminal penalties and sentences.
It is unfortunately very easy to be unfairly charged with a serious assault offense if you get involved in a fight that you didn’t start, or wasn’t your fault. And if things got out out hand, and you regret your actions, I am prepared to fight for you so you don’t pay for a one time mistake for the rest of your life.
Fortunately, there are often good legal defense options available. If you’ve been arrested or charged with assault, assault and battery, simple assault, domestic assault, aggravated assault, or assault with a vehicle or dangerous/deadly weapon in New Jersey, contact me right away for a free consultation. I’ll listen to the facts of your case, review the police report, and tell you what I think your best defense options are, all in a free consultation.
Your best option to avoid serious penalties is consulting with an experienced Assault Criminal Defense Lawyer In New Jersey.
New Jersey Assault Laws
Aggravated Assault is a serious charge usually involving serious bodily injury on purpose, and/or with indifference to human life, or using a deadly/dangerous weapon with intent to cause bodily harm. A deadly weapon could be a gun, knife, or other dangerous object, or even a car or other vehicle. Aggravated assault is also charged in cases of setting a fire or explosion which causes bodily injury.
Assault by Auto is a specific kind of assault if you hit someone with your car. The penalties depend on the seriousness of the resulting injury.
Simple Assault is a charge that falls in the category of knowingly or negligently causing bodily harm, or putting a person in fear of bodily harm. It is the least serious assault offenses, and is usually charged in cases of fights or minor injuries. which as a maximum penalty of 6 months in jail and/or a $1000 fine.
Aggravated Assault with serious injury is considered a Second Degree Crime, with a maximum penalty of up to 10 years in state prison.
Simple Assault is considered a disorderly persons offense, which has a maximum penalty of 6 months in jail and/or a $1000 fine.
Assault by Auto is 4th degree crime is serious injury occurs, and a disorderly persons offense if a less serious bodily injury. A 4th degree crime has a maximum penalty of 18 months in prison and fines of up to $10,000. A disorderly persons offense, which has a maximum penalty of 6 months in jail and/or a $1000 fine, (or both)
Assault Defense Strategies
I have successfully beaten a wide variety of serious assault charges in court.
My defense strategies for Aggravated Assault may include trying to get the charges reduced to simple assault, or filing motions to dismiss the case or suppress the evidence against you if there are appropriate legal or constitutional grounds to do so. These cases can be complicated, so much depends on the specific facts of your case.
When I defend clients facing a Simple Assault charge, I usually am able to resolve the case in the clients favor, often with a dismissal in many cases.
A Free, Criminal Defense Legal Consultation
I can offer you a free legal consultation on your assault and battery, domestic assault, or related charge, either in person or over the phone. You have nothing to lose by calling — and you will learn exactly what your rights and options are. Take advantage of a chance to talk directly to a defense attorney who has represented people just like you countless times before. If you decide not to hire me to represent you, it’s only cost you an hour of your time.
Please call me to discuss your assault charge, at my offices in Freehold, NJ. (888) 628-8394 or locally at (732) 625-9660. Call now for a free, no-obligation criminal legal consultation with a professional Assault Criminal Defense Lawyer In New Jersey.
New Jersey Criminal Defense Lawyer – Freehold, NJ