Professional Cell Phone Ticket Defense Lawyer For All NJ Courts
Interested In Winning? Avoid Heavy Fines & Higher Insurance. Call Us!
Distracted driving has become a major issue in courtrooms across the country. Because of this, many states have decided to enforce cell phone usage laws.
In 2004, NJ became only the second state in U.S. history to make it against the law to use a cell phone while driving.
Four years later, the state of New Jersey made it so that police officers can consider these violations a primary offense and require a court appearance in NJ .
This means that officers can pull you over for only using your mobile phone and it is no longer considered a “secondary offense” to speeding or other primary traffic violations.
Because of these law changes, tickets for cell phone use while driving have increased dramatically.
What Do NJ Courts Consider To Be Illegal Cell Phone Use While Driving?
The New Jersey Statute Associated With Cell Phone Violations Is
39:4-97.3 Use of wireless telephone, electronic communication device in moving vehicles; definitions; enforcement.
This statute prohibits using a cell phone or other mobile device unless the driver has a hands-free or bluetooth device.
However, the law also states that a driver may use their cell phone in cases of emergency or immediate danger.
Penalties For Cell Phone Tickets In New Jersey
If you are convicted of a cell phone ticket in NJ, you could face fines and even license suspension.
- First-time cell phone violation: Fines up to $400
- Second-time cell phone violation: Fines up to $600
- Three or more cell phone violations: Fines up to $800 and the possibility of a 90 day license suspension
However, the penalties for cell phone tickets can extend beyond fines and license suspension if you aren’t careful.
If your employer depends upon a clean driving record, your job may be at risk.
Furthermore, insurance companies may raise your rates by large amounts- even for a first offense. Judges can also assign points to your driving record.
An experienced cell phone ticket attorney can defend you in Municipal Court and help you avoid these heavy fines and penalties.
Beating a Cell Phone Ticket In New Jersey
Your best chance at beating a cell phone ticket in NJ is hiring a skilled defense attorney.
They know the ins-and-outs of the New Jersey laws and are your best weapon in building a strong case.
There are a few exceptions that have been outlined by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission for cell phone violations, and Matthew Reisig knows how to use them to create a solid defense strategy.
We know what is at stake if you are convicted of a Cell Phone violation in NJ and we want to help.
If you or a loved one have been charged with a cell phone violation, call Reisig Criminal Defense & DWI Law at (732) 625-9661.