Don't Let a New Jersey Criminal Assault Charge Ruin Your
Arrested for Assault in New Jersey?
Fight Back with a Strong Criminal Defense!
If you've been arrested for assault, you know what a traumatic time you are
going through. The criminal justice system can be terrifying and overwhelming
when you are a defendant caught up in the system. An experienced defense lawyer
on your side will not just protect your legal rights, but also give you some
peace of mind that there is someone on your side to protect and help you through
a difficult time in your life.
In New Jersey, Assault and related crimes are serious criminal charges and can have
severe penalties and consequences if not handled properly. A prompt
and vigorous defense strategy can often significantly reduce or eliminate the
risk of serious criminal penalties and sentences.
If you've been arrested or charged with assault, assault and battery, simple
assault, domestic assault, aggravated assault, or assault with a vehicle or
dangerous/deadly weapon in New Jersey, contact me right away for a free
consultation. I'll listen to the facts of your case, review the police report,
and tell you what I think your best defense options are, all in a free
Aggravated Assault is a serious charge usually involving serious
bodily injury on purpose, and/or with indifference to human life, or using a
deadly/dangerous weapon with intent to cause bodily harm. A deadly weapon could
be a gun, knife, or other dangerous object, or even a car or other vehicle.
Aggravated assault is also charged in cases of setting a fire or explosion which
causes bodily injury.
Assault by Auto is a specific kind of assault if you
hit someone with your car. The penalties depend on the seriousness of
the resulting injury.
Simple Assault is a charge that falls in the category of knowingly or
negligently causing bodily harm, or putting a person in fear of bodily harm. It
is the least serious assault offenses, and is usually charged in cases of fights
or minor injuries. which as a maximum penalty of 6 months in jail and/or a $1000
Also see my Domestic Violence page for
cases involving Domestic Assault.
New Jersey Assault Penalties
Aggravated Assault with serious injury is considered a Second
Degree Crime, with a maximum penalty of up to 10 years in state prison.
Simple Assault is considered a disorderly persons offense,
which has a maximum penalty of 6 months in jail and/or a $1000 fine.
Assault by Auto is 4th degree crime is
serious injury occurs, and a disorderly persons offense if a
less serious bodily injury. A 4th degree crime has a maximum
penalty of 18 months in prison and fines of up to $10,000. A disorderly persons offense,
which has a maximum penalty of 6 months in jail and/or a $1000 fine, (or
Assault Defense Strategies
My defense strategies for Aggravated Assault may include trying to get
the charges reduced to simple assault, or filing motions to dismiss the case or suppress
the evidence against you if there are appropriate legal or constitutional
grounds to do so. These cases can be complicated, so much depends on the
specific facts of your case.
When I defend clients facing a Simple Assault charge, I
usually am able to resolve the case in the clients favor, often with a
dismissal in many cases.
A Free, Criminal Defense Legal
I can offer you a free legal consultation
on your assault and battery, domestic assault, or related charge, either in person or over the phone. You
have nothing to lose by calling -- and you will learn exactly what your rights and
options are. Take advantage of a chance to talk directly to a New Jersey defense attorney who has
represented people just like you countless times before. If you decide not to hire me to
represent you, it's only cost you an hour of your time.
Please call me to discuss your New Jersey
theft charge, at my offices in
(888) 628-8394 or locally at (732) 625-9660. Call now for a free, no-obligation criminal defense
Jersey Criminal Defense Lawyer - Freehold, NJ