Charged with Burglary in New Jersey?
Get a The Legal Advice You Need to
Protect Your Rights!
Burglary is a serious charge and should be treated
accordingly. A lesser charge of entering an unlicensed structure is also
a serious matter. Many times the intentions of the person entering a structure
without permission are not clear and the police don’t allow for explanations
before they charge the accused with burglary. Burglary is often charged in
addition to theft.
I understand that the legal process can be very confusing
and stressful. You need someone who you can count on to defend you as much as
possible. I have helped many people who have been facing New Jersey Burglary
charges and related criminal offenses. and I have successfully helped many of
them avoid Burglary convictions.
Maybe you thought you had permission, or were trying to
retrieve something you owned. Or you may have just made a bad decision at a
Whatever the case, you need to act quickly because a
burglary charge can have a detrimental impact on your future. With a burglary
charge on your criminal history you may not be able to secure housing or find a
Your life depends on finding the best person to defend you
and you can count on me to be that person. During a free consultation I will
meet you and review your case. I will hear your side of the story and create a
strategy to resolve your charges with the least impact on your future.
New Jersey Burglary Laws
According to New Jersey criminal law, Burglary is entering
or remaining in a structure without authorization from the owner and with the
intent to commit a crime.
Under New Jersey Criminal Code, burglary is defined as: entering or
remaining on property that you have no lawful right to be on for the
purpose of committing an offense. Though we often think of this offense
as theft, it doesn’t have to be.
(See: New Jersey criminal law sec. 18-2)
Penalties for Burglary
Most of the time, Burglary is a third degree charge
(a felony level offense) which could result in up to 5 years in prison.
If the burglary was with the intent to threaten or inflict
physical harm or if the person committing the burglary had an armed weapon it
becomes a second degree charge which could result in up to 10 years in
Entry into Unlicensed Structures Laws
According to New Jersey criminal law, Entry into
Unlicensed Structure is the name of the charge when a person enters a
structure knowing that they are not licensed to do so. This charge is different
from Burglary because there is no intent to commit a separate crime behind
the unauthorized entry. Peering into windows is also included under this
charge even though you aren’t technically entering into a structure by looking
(See New Jersey criminal law sec. 18-3)
Penalties for Entering an Unlicensed Structure in NJ
Entry into Unlicensed structures is a petty disorderly
person’s offense which could result in up to up to 30 days jail, a fine of
up to $500, restitution, probation, and/or community service.
There are certain situations where an Entry into
Unlicensed Structures charge could be a fourth degree charge (felony)
which is why it’s important to get advice for your specific case.
When you are
faced with a potential sentence like this, you know the stakes are high.
Not only are you looking at losing your freedom for a number of years,
you could be forced to carry the label of a convicted felon for the rest
of your life.
As your attorney, I would make it my business to
ensure your rights were protected throughout the criminal justice
process. I would also work tirelessly to seek the best resolution of
your case possible.
If you are charged with a burglary offense, we can negotiate and try to get
the charged reduced to a lesser unlicensed structure offense. But of course,
I'll first do a thorough evaluation of your case, and look for holes in the
evidence, and police procedures to find any opportunity to get your charges
Free Consultation on New Jersey Burglary and Entering Unlicensed Structure
I offer a free consultation where I will review your case with you and tell you
what your sentence could be if you were convicted. I will also advise you of the
options you have available in resolving your case.
You can be confident that your case and, more importantly, your future are in
good hands. And my advice is free, and without further obligation if you don't
decide to hire me.
Please contact my office to speak to be about these charges. I'll offer you
my legal advice and suggestions as to what your options are, and how I can help.
I look forward to speaking with you.
J. Matthew Reisig, Attorney at Law
(888) 628-8394 or locally at (732) 625-9660
Reisig & Associates, LLC
One Broad Street
Freehold, NJ 07728
One block from the Monmouth County Court House.
We represent clients in every criminal court across New Jersey.
A Certified Criminal Trial Attorney in New Jersey