Fight Your New Jersey Criminal Arrest!
The Basics of New Jersey Criminal Laws - Crimes &
There are two categories of criminal matters under New Jersey state
criminal laws: a more serious offense is called a "Crimes",
and less serious offense is called a "Disorderly Persons
Offense". These categories are roughly the same as what people consider
"felonies" and "misdemeanors". Crimes are also
called "indictable offenses".
NJ Criminal Defense News
State V. Marshall
the New Jersey Courts determined that a motion to suppress should have
been allowed in favor of the defense, for reasons that the search
warrant was "insufficiently specific". The police had not established
probable cause for the search by failing to determine in which apt. unit
the defendant lived.
I represent people accused of both Crimes and Disorderly Persons
Offenses in all New Jersey Criminal Courts, on charges ranging from
disorderly persons to murder.
New Jersey Crimes / Criminal Offenses
Under New Jersey Criminal Laws, indictable criminal offenses are
categorized as First, Second, Third, and Fourth Degree charges. 1st
and 2nd degree crimes are considered to have a "presumption of
imprisonment". If you are found guilty of a first or second
degree New Jersey criminal charge, you will be sent to prison.
3rd and 4th degree criminal charges do not have any presumption of
imprisonment if you do not have any previous criminal convictions on
your record. Any prior convictions you do have on your record will be
considered and factored in to the sentencing process if you are found
guilty of a third or fourth degree charge.
- First Degree - 1st Degree crimes are obviously the most
serious criminal matters. Offenses in this category include
kidnapping, armed robbery, rape/sexual assault with
penetration, and some other very serious charges. The penalties
for conviction for first degree criminal charges are 10-20 years
in state prison.
- Second Degree - 2nd degree crimes include sexual assault,
aggravated assault with serious injury, kidnapping, robbery
without a gun/unarmed robbery, endangering the welfare of a child,
eluding police, computer pornography crimes, and the more serious
drug charges. The penalties for conviction for a second degree
criminal offense under New Jersey laws are typically 5-10 years in
- Third Degree - 3rd degree crimes include most drug
charges, theft/shoplifting charges, property damage charges,
burglary charges, and most assault charges. If you are found
guilty of a third/3rd degree criminal offense in New Jersey, the
range of penalties is from non-custodial probation (i.e.,
probation without jail time), to up to 5 years in prison. You can
also get probationary sentences that may include jail time up
almost 1 year.
- Fourth Degree - 4th degree crimes include some drug
charges, theft/shoplifting charges, some sexual charges, assault
charges, stalking, and a number of other charges. If you are found guilty of
a fourth/4th degree criminal offense in NJ, the range of possible
penalties is from non-custodial probation to up to 18 months in
New Jersey Disorderly Persons Offense Penalties
Disorderly Persons offenses in NJ carry potential criminal
penalties as follows:
- Prison or jail; up to 6 months for a disorderly persons offense,
or 30 days for a petty disorderly persons offense
- Fines of up to $1000 for a disorderly persons offense, or $500 for
a petty disorderly persons offense.
- community service
- drivers license suspension
Some common examples of disorderly persons charges, or (petty
crimes as they are sometimes called) are shoplifting or theft under
$200 in value, possession of drugs in very small quantities,
New Jersey Town Ordinance Offense Penalties
Local town ordinance offenses are varied, and specific to each
town or municipality. They are generally lesser offenses than petty disorderly
persons offense charges.
Criminal Charges I Defend
I represent clients across New Jersey on all criminal charges. I've successfully
represented people charged with virtually every type of New Jersey Criminal
I am in different NJ courts every day,
defending my clients rights and freedom on many different criminal
and traffic charges. If you've been arrested and are facing criminal
charges in New Jersey, call for a free consultation now.(888) 628-8394
(888) 628-8394 or locally at (732) 625-9660