Aiding Suicide (N.J.S.A. 2C:11-6) isn’t a law that’s used in prosecution very often in New Jersey, but it’s a law that creates significant risk for those charged with it.
When a person engages in conduct that leads a person to attempt suicide or to actually commit suicide, they’ll be charged under 2C:11-6 with a crime of the second degree.
Penalties for conviction in aiding suicide include a five to ten year prison sentence and $150,000 in fines.
Where conduct construed as Aiding Suicide doesn’t result in an attempt or completed suicide, you can still be prosecuted.
In those instances, 2C:11-6 is charged as a crime of the fourth degree, which carries a maximum sentence of 18 months and fines of up to $10,000.
When the law was passed in 1979, it was almost certainly thought to primarily apply to doctors, nurses, and others who serve as caregivers to the sick and elderly.
However, in today’s world, we’re already starting to see cases where charges have been filed for encouraging someone to commit suicide by text message or online.
Don’t take chances if police are investigating a case where Aiding Suicide may be in play, or if you’ve been charged.
Get experienced help right away.
Matt Reisig has helped families in New Jersey as they face criminal charges for 20 years.
Call 732-625-9661 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.