Criminal Attorney Helps Those Facing Deceptive Business Practices (N.J.S.A. 2C:21-7) Charges
When a business owner is caught misrepresenting their merchandise or making false statements in advertising or written communications in order to obtain credit or property or sell securities, they can be charged with Deceptive Business Practices (N.J.S.A. 2C:21-7).
In most cases, the charge is a disorderly persons offense, which in serious cases can lead to a sentence of up to six months in jail and a fine of $1,000.
When credit or property was obtained through fraudulent written statements, or securities were sold based on false or misleading written statements, the charge becomes a fourth degree crime, with a sentence of up 18 months if convicted.
You’ll also face fines of $10,000 and restitution costs.
There are defenses to charges of Deceptive Business Practices in New Jersey, and an experienced defense lawyer can make a big difference in your case.
If you or a family member need help with deceptive business practices charges, call Attorney Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.