Defense Lawyer Helps With False Swearing (N.J.S.A. 2C:28-2) Charges
When you are under oath or other affirmation and present a statement as true even though you do not believe it to be true, you can be charged with False Swearing (N.J.S.A. 2C:28-2) in New Jersey.
Under the statute, being charged with False Swearing does not prohibit prosecutors from also charging you with Perjury, another serious crime.
Statements that appear inconsistent, or where there is evidence that you knew them to be false, open you to significant exposure for prosecution.
False Swearing is a crime of the fourth degree that can put you away for up to 18 months.
In nearly every case, there are defenses against False Swearing charges, and ample opportunities to rebut the charges against you.
Attorney Matthew Reisig has protected the rights and freedom of people charged with serious crimes in New Jersey for more than 17 years.
If you or a family member are facing False Swearing charges, call 732-625-9661 today for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.