Defense Lawyer For Those Facing Hindering Apprehension or Prosecution (N.J.S.A. 2C:29-3) Charges
Hindering Apprehension or Prosecution (N.J.S.A. 2C:29-3) in New Jersey is the charge that most people would describe as “aiding and abetting.”
In effect, if you provide support to a person you know is wanted for a crime, you can be charged under N.J.S.A. 2C:29-3. Specifically, the statute criminalizes these types of conduct:
- Harbors or conceals the other
- Provides or aids in providing the other with weapons, money, disguise, transportation, or other means of effecting escape
- Conceals or destroys evidence of a crime or tampers with a witness or information that may aid in the discovery of the person
- Warns the other of the impending apprehension or discovery
- Prevents or obstructs, by means of force, intimidation, or deception, another person from performing an act which may aid in the discovery or apprehension of the other
- Aids the person to protect or profit from the crime
- Gives false information to a law enforcement officer or a state insurance fraud investigator.
Grading is based on several factors. First, the severity of the crime that the wanted person is being charged with.
Hindering Apprehension or Prosecution (N.J.S.A. 2C:29-3) is a crime of the third degree when the person aided is charged with a second degree crime or higher.
However, when the actor is a spouse, parent, or child of the person aided, the charge is a fourth degree crime.
When the person aided is charged with a crime of the third degree, the Hindering charge will be graded as a fourth degree crime.
Otherwise, it is considered a disorderly persons offense.
Sentencing for third degree crimes is between 3-5 years. For fourth degree crimes, it is between 12-18 months. For disorderly persons offenses, the maximum is six months.
Hindering Apprehension or Prosecution is a serious crime in New Jersey that can put you in prison even if your intentions were good or you believed the person was innocent.
If you’re dealing with hindering apprehension or prosecution charges, call attorney Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.