Criminal Defense Lawyer For Marijuana Possession Under 50 Grams In NJ
Call One Of The Top Minor Marijuana Possession Defense Attorneys In New Jersey
If you’ve been arrested for possessing under 50 grams of marijuana in New Jersey, chances are you have questions on what you can expect to happen.
Marijuana Possession Under 50 Grams is considered a disorderly persons offense and is heard in municipal court.
Someone arrested for this offense is charged with violating N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(a)(4); Possession of Less Than 50 Grams of Marijuana.
This law states that:
- It is unlawful for any person, knowingly or purposely, to obtain, or to possess, actually or constructively, a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog, unless the substance was obtained directly, or pursuant to a valid prescription or order form from a practitioner, while acting in the course of his professional practice, or except as otherwise authorized by P.L.1970, c.226 (C.24:21-1 et seq.). Any person who violates this section with respect to:
- (4) Possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana, including any adulterants or dilutants, or five grams or less of hashish is a disorderly person.
What Does Possession Of Marijuana Under 50 Grams Really Mean In NJ?
A lot of our clients are surprised to find out the variety of ways they can be charged with this Possession Of Marijuana charge.
You can be charged with Marijuana Possession Under 50 Grams even if you do not possess marijuana directly.
If police search your vehicle and find a bag with what they suspect to be marijuana residue, you can be charged. You’ll more than likely also face additional charges such as possession of drug paraphernalia or possession of drugs in a car.
Furthermore, a small amount such as a marijuana “roach” or even marijuana seeds are both considered possession of marijuana.
It’s easy to see how a minor marijuana possession charge can escalate quickly from a simple disorderly persons offense.
This is why it’s important to seek the guidance of a skilled defense attorney in New Jersey to help you fight these charges.
Penalties For Possession Of Marijuana Under 50 Grams In New Jersey
Someone arrested for marijuana possession as a disorderly persons offense is still facing significant penalties if convicted.
Often people make the mistake of thinking that since it is considered a “minor” marijuana offense, they don’t have a lot to be worried about.
However, this could not be further from the truth.
If you are found guilty of Marijuana Possession Under 50 Grams, you are up against harsh penalties.
A person convicted of this crime is facing up to 6 months in jail.
They could also have to pay up to $1,000 in fines or have their driver’s license suspended.
You could also be sentenced to probation, making it mandatory to submit to random drug testing and other inconvenient conditions.
Your location when arrested is also a factor courts consider when deciding your punishment.
Depending upon where you were, community service may also be mandatory.
Defense Strategies To Fight Marijuana Possession Charges In New Jersey
Your best defense against Marijuana Possession Charges, such as possession under 50 grams, is a skilled defense attorney.
Matthew Reisig is a certified criminal defense lawyer and has the experience you need to fight these charges.
He can review the evidence and build a strong case on your behalf.
An experienced Marijuana Possession Defense Attorney such as Matthew Reisig knows which factors are most important in your case.
Did the police conduct a lawful search of your person or vehicle? There are very specific laws that must be followed if a police search takes place.
Were you questioned properly by the arresting officers? Once again, there are guidelines in place police officers must follow when questioning someone.
These are only some of the factors Matthew Reisig will look at when reviewing your case and the evidence against you.
Can I Have Marijuana Possession Charges Dropped If It’s My First Offense?
Another option for first-time offenders is something called a Conditional Discharge.
If you do not have a history of drug convictions or other diversion programs (such as pre-trial intervention or a separate conditional discharge), you may be eligible for having your marijuana possession charges dismissed.
The conditions of this option are negotiable and you would need an expert Marijuana Possession Defense Attorney to get you the best outcome possible.
Free Consultation With A Skilled Marijuana Possession Defense Lawyer In New Jersey
Even though many people see Marijuana Possession as a minor offense, the potential penalties are serious.
If you or a family member have been charged with Marijuana Possession Under 50 Grams in NJ, Matthew Reisig can help.
Call today for a free consultation on your case: (732) 625-9661