New Jersey Penalties For Health Care Claims Fraud (N.J.S.A. 2C:21-4.3)
Health Care Claims Fraud (N.J.S.A. 2C:21-4.3) in New Jersey can be charged against providers and patients, and the grade of the charge will be related to whether the act was knowing or reckless.
A healthcare provider who recklessly commits Health Care Claims Fraud will be charged with a crime of the third degree, while the same act committed knowingly will result in a more serious second degree charge.
A third degree conviction can result in a 3-5 year prison sentence, while a second degree conviction carries a 5-10 year penalty.
Additionally, practitioners will face fines equal to five times the amount of the benefit they sought or obtained from the fraud.
Patients who recklessly engage in Health Care Claims Fraud face a fourth degree charge, and a possible 18 months in prison if convicted.
Knowingly committing Health Care Claims Fraud as a patient is a third degree crime, with a 3-5 year sentence, and when more than five instances of Health Care Claims Fraud have been committed, the charge becomes second degree, with a 5-10 year sentence possible.
As with providers, a person charged under the statute will face fines amounting to five times the amount sought or obtained.
Health Care Claims Fraud is extremely serious, and these charges can devastate you personally and professionally.
Attorney Matthew Reisig can help. Call 732-625-9661 today and talk to an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney for free.