Keeping weapons out of the hands of people who shouldn’t have them is a concern that the State of New Jersey takes seriously.
To that end, the state has on the books the law N.J.S.A. 2C:39-9.1, Sale of Knives to Minors, which prohibits stores and vendors from selling hunting, fishing, combat, or survival knives with blades longer than five inches, or an overall length of 10 inches or more, to people under the age of 18.
The offense is a crime of the fourth degree, which can result in a sentence of up to 18 months and fines of up to $10,000.
Fortunately, fourth degree crimes also carry a presumption of non-incarceration, so in most cases, you wouldn’t serve time if convicted.
The statute itself also contains a strong affirmative defense against prosecution.
If the purchaser presents you ID that you reasonably believe is real and the purchaser appears to be over the age of 18, a sale made in good faith is not subject to prosecution.
Store owners and online sellers have enough to worry about in the ordinary operations of their businesses.
If you’ve been charged with selling a knife to a minor, don’t take chances with legal problems.
Call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.