New Jersey lawmakers want to discourage car theft, so they’ve passed a number of laws designed to make that crime more rare.
One, N.J.S.A. 2C:5-6, is called “Motor Vehicle Master Keys,” and makes it a crime of the fourth degree for a person other than members of law enforcement, locksmiths, car dealers, and others with a valid reason, to possess, sell, advertise, or transfer a motor vehicle master key or a device designed to operate a lock or start a car engine without the car’s key.
Fourth degree crimes are low-level felonies and carry a maximum sentence of 18 months in jail and fines of up to $10,000.
Fortunately, fourth degree crimes also generally carry a presumption of non-incarceration, which means that if you’re convicted, you may be able to avoid serving a prison sentence.
You’ll still have a felony record to contend with, and if the charges are filed in connection to more serious offenses like car theft charges or conspiracy charges, you’ll be facing potentially very significant legal danger.
If you’ve been charged under 2C:5-6, don’t take chances with your future.
Call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.