New Jersey Defense Attorney For Invasion Of Privacy Charges
Invasion Of Privacy Charges can be intimidating.
While the average teenager is obsessed with parental “invasions of privacy,” New Jersey law takes a very different and very specific view of what constitutes an Invasion of Privacy.
Under N.J.S.A. 2C:14-9, there are three modes of conduct that are criminal invasions of privacy.
First, observing another person under circumstances in which a reasonable person would know that another may expose intimate parts or engage in sexual contact, without the person’s consent and in a setting which the person reasonably believes is private, is a crime of the fourth degree.
This section of the law would apply to so-called Peeping Tom behavior, among others, and carries a potential sentence of 18 months in prison and $10,000 in fines.
More seriously, making photographs, video recordings, audio recordings, or other reproductions of a person whose intimate parts are exposed or who is engaged in a sex act, without that person’s consent and where they would expect to be unobserved, is a crime of the third degree.
Penalties for Invasion of Privacy Charges at this level can include a three to five year prison sentence and fines of up to $15,000.
Finally, selling, publishing, or otherwise disseminating such photos, videos, audio, or other reproductions is also a crime of the third degree, with maximum fines increased to $30,000 for violation of this section.
Defending Against Invasion Of Privacy Charges In NJ
There are defenses in cases alleging violation of 2C:14-9, and an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney can make a big difference in your case.
Call MatthewReisig today at 732-625-9661 to talk to a lawyer for free.