When a fire is set or an explosion caused purposely, but with reckless intent, it will be prosecuted under N.J.S.A. 2C:17-1(b), Arson, also known as Third Degree Arson.
Intent is important in this charge, as evidence that there was purposeful or knowing effort to put others in danger or damage structures is prosecuted as the more serious Aggravated Arson Charges.
It’s important that you work with an attorney who can build a strong case for reckless conduct, or even better, merely failing to report a dangerous fire, which diminishes your exposure to penalties for arson charges even more.
NJ Arson Defense Attorney Will Fight Penalties For You
If you’re convicted of Third Degree Arson, a felony, you will face a prison sentence of between three and five years and a fine of up to $15,000.
While this is not ideal, it’s also possible to be prosecuted for arson as a first or second degree crime, which would lead to significantly longer sentences and higher fines.
Your attorney must have the resources and experience to build the right case to protect your interests and show the prosecution that your role was as minor as possible, and your intent as benign as possible.
MatthewReisig has been defending people in New Jersey facing serious felony charges for nearly 20 years.
Call 732-625-9661 today to talk to an experienced New Jersey arson defense attorney for free.