A Third Degree Burglary charge (N.J.S.A. 2C:18-2) in New Jersey is serious. Third degree burglary penalties can change the path of your life.
The allegation against you involves trespassing on certain types of property. This includes research facilities and utility company properties- with an intent to commit an offense.
Also, the state isn’t alleging that you were armed or that you caused injury to another person. This is because you’re charged at the Third Degree level and not the more serious Second Degree level.
If convicted under 2C:18-2, you can be imprisoned for 3-5 years and face fines up to $15,000.
However, there are some reasons for hope even if you plead guilty or are convicted.
For many defendants with no criminal history, the court will exercise a presumption of non-incarceration. This means that even if you are convicted you won’t serve your sentence in prison.
Hiring A NJ Defense Lawyer To Fight Third Degree Burglary Penalties
It’s vital that you take every step possible to protect yourself if you’re facing Third Degree Burglary charges under 2C:18-2 in New Jersey.
Matthew Reisig has protected people from criminal penalties for two decades.
Call 732-625-9661 today for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.