In New Jersey, Criminal Coercion (N.J.S.A. 2C:13-5) is a Fourth Degree crime, carrying a potential sentence of 18 months, along with a $10,000 fine.
Can Criminal Coercion Be Considered A Third Degree Charge
However, if the prosecution believes that your threats were for the purpose of committing a crime more serious than a Fourth Degree crime, you may be charged with Third Degree Criminal Coercion, which can leave you in state prison for up to five years, with a $15,000 fine.
Whatever the specifics of your charges, Criminal Coercion is a very serious crime that can put you in prison and leave you with a felony conviction to deal with for the rest of your life.
And since Criminal Coercion is often charged in connection to other crimes, you may ultimately be facing a much larger case than you bargained for.
Get experienced legal help fast. Attorney Matthew Reisig protects clients from charges of Criminal Coercion and related charges in every county in New Jersey.
Call 732-625-9661 today for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey Criminal Coercion defense attorney.