Protecting the elderly and disabled from abuse and neglect is a concern for the state, and to that end, the legislature has enacted N.J.S.A. 2C:24-8, Abandonment, Neglect of Elderly Person, Disabled Adult criminal charges. Under the statute, it is a crime of the third degree for a person having a legal duty to care for a person 60 years of age or older, or a disabled adult, to abandon the person, to unreasonably neglect their care, or to fail to permit necessary acts for their physical or mental health.
If convicted of a crime of the third degree, you can be sentenced to three to five years in a New Jersey state prison and be ordered to pay $15,000 in fines, plus restitution to victims. You’ll also be wide open to civil litigation if a criminal case against you is considered proven.
Don’t let your future get away from you. Call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 and talk to an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney for free.