If you falsify information on an application to get around New Jersey’s limit on handgun purchases, you’re facing a serious felony charge with enhanced penalties.
Under N.J.S.A. 2C:39-10(g), Providing False Information for Handgun Purchase Exemption, it is a crime of the third degree in New Jersey to give or cause to be given any false information, or to knowingly engage in any other fraudulent conduct, in applying for an exemption to purchase more than one handgun in a 30-day period.
If you’re convicted of violating 2C:39-10(g), you’ll be sentenced to prison for three to five years, but unlike most crimes of the third degree in New Jersey, the statute explicitly rules out the normal presumption of non-incarceration.
hat means that if convicted, you’ll have to serve time in custody, away from your family, and out of the community. You’ll also face fines of up to $15,000, and of course, you’ll have to live with a felony record, possibly for the rest of your life.
It doesn’t have to be this way. While there are no guarantees, your odds with a lawyer representing you are considerably better than without one. If you’ve been charged with Providing False Information for Handgun Purchase Exemption, call Matthew Reisig today at 732-385-3339 for a free consultation.