Because of the risk to people and property from improperly produced electrical work in homes and businesses, New Jersey has chosen to regulate the practice of Electrical Contracting. Performing this type of work or advertising Electrical Contracting services when you are not licensed through the State Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors is a crime of the fourth degree under N.J.S.A. 2C:21-33, Electrical Contracting Without Business Permit. Conviction can lead to a sentence of up to 18 months, and a fine of $10,000. Performing electrical contracting work without a license could result in prison time and expensive fines.
In cases involving professional licensure, working with an experienced New Jersey attorney is critical to obtaining the best possible outcome. You aren’t only risking criminal sanction when state boards are involved. You’re also risking far-reaching career ramifications that can affect you profoundly for the rest of your life. If you’ve been charged under N.J.S.A. 2C:21-33, call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.