New Jersey Penalties For False Imprisonment (N.J.S.A. 2C:13-3) Charges
False Imprisonment (N.J.S.A. 2C:13-3) in New Jersey is graded as a disorderly persons offense, or the equivalent of a misdemeanor in other states.
If convicted, you’ll face up to six months in jail and a fine of $1,000.
However, it’s fair to say that most False Imprisonment cases use the charge as a lesser included offense in a larger prosecution of a more serious nature, such as in a kidnapping case.
How you proceed with your defense can determine how the rest of your life goes.
Matthew Reisig has been practicing as a criminal defense attorney in New Jersey for more than 17 years, and in that time he has helped thousands of clients avoid convictions, minimize their exposure to jail time, and receive the best outcome possible in their cases.
When you’ve been charged with False Imprisonment in New Jersey, call 732-625-9661 today for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.