New Jersey Penalties For Falsifying Or Tampering With Records (N.J.S.A. 2C:21-4)
Falsifying or Tampering with Records (N.J.S.A. 2C:21-4) is a very serious crime in New Jersey that can put you in prison for years.
The lowest grade of the charge is at the fourth degree level, where conviction can result in an 18 month prison sentence and a fine of up to $10,000.
If you are alleged to have issued a false financial statement with the intent of harming or deceiving another, you can be charged with a crime of the third degree, which can boost the potential penalties to three to five years, with a fine of $15,000.
Allegations of fraud and falsification of records will have consequences well beyond your immediate concerns about prison time.
Trying to find career-track jobs after a fraud conviction will be extremely difficult, and any conviction under 2C:21-4 is a felony-level conviction that will keep many opportunities out of your reach.
Attorney Matthew Reisig has nearly two decades of experience defending people in New Jersey against criminal charges.
For help with Falsifying Or Tampering With Records charges, call 732-625-9661 today for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.