New Jersey Penalties For Health Care Claims Fraud (N.J.S.A 2C:21-4.3)
How Health Care Claims Fraud (N.J.S.A. 2C:21-4.3) is charged in New Jersey is based on what your role is in the healthcare claims process, and whether you knowingly or recklessly engaged in the conduct.
Doctors, chiropractors, nurses, and others working as practitioners in the healthcare industry can be charged at either the third degree level or the second degree level.
These are both equivalent to felonies, with a 3-5 year sentence for conviction of a third degree crime and a 5-10 year sentence for conviction of a second degree crime.
The distinction in the grade is based on the element of recklessness, with lighter charges for reckless conduct and steeper charges for intentional conduct.
Non-practitioners who are charged with Health Care Claims Fraud have a wider range of potential charges. Recklessly engaging in claims fraud is a crime of the fourth degree, with a maximum 18 month sentence, but a presumption of non-incarceration.
Knowingly engaging in the conduct is a crime of the third degree, and conviction will result in a 3-5 year sentence.
Knowingly committing more than five instances of claims fraud is a crime of the second degree, with a 5-10 year sentence.
Any conviction also carries substantial fines and fees, including a fine of five times the amount of the benefit you received.
Matthew Reisig has been a criminal defense attorney in New Jersey for nearly two decades, and has a strong record of success in delivering for his clients.
If you need help with health care claims fraud charges, call 732-625-9661 today and talk to an experienced New Jersey defense lawyer for free.