Penalties For Impersonation; Theft Of Identity (N.J.S.A. 2C:21-17)
Identity theft is a growing concern for law enforcement and prosecutors, but also for average people.
Because of the extent to which falsified identity information can damage a person’s credit and ability to operate in the world, New Jersey legislators have taken a forceful approach to prosecuting it.
Under Impersonation; Theft of Identity (N.J.S.A. 2C:21-17), prosecutors have the ability to pummel you with high stakes charges, prison time, and a felony record.
When the identity theft or false identifying information is used to obtain a benefit or defraud another of less than $500, you’ll be charged with a crime of the fourth degree. You can spend up to 18 months in prison at this level, and you’ll be fined $10,000.
The third degree grade is the one likely to catch most people. At this level, you’re alleged to have obtained a benefit of between $500 and $75,000, and conviction can mean three to five years in prison and a fine of $15,000.
When the benefit obtained is more than $75,000, you’ll be charged with a crime of the second degree and can be in prison for five to ten years, with a $150,000 fine to pay.
Theft and fraud charges are extremely serious, and prosecutors are serious about winning in these types of cases.
If you’ve been charged with Impersonation or Theft of Identity, call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.