New Jersey Penalties For Interference With Custody (N.J.S.A. 2C:13-4) Charges
In most cases, Interference With Custody (N.J.S.A. 2C:13-4) is graded as a third degree crime, and you’ll face between three and five years in prison if convicted.
Unlike many other third degree crimes, the presumption of non-incarceration does not apply to N.J.S.A. 2C:13-4.
In cases where a child is taken outside of the United States for a period of 24 hours or more, the charge will be a crime of the second degree and you can go to prison for five to 10 years if convicted.
When a committed person is enticed away from a condition of lawful custody, the charge will be a crime of the fourth degree, with an 18 month maximum sentence if convicted.
Interference With Custody cases usually involve a non-custodial parent, and are often caused by misunderstandings or disputes within the family.
It is vital that you get the best quality legal representation available to preserve your freedom and your relationship with your child.
If you need help with Interference With Custody charges, call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 and talk to an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney for free.