Lewdness in New Jersey may be charged at one of two levels, a Disorderly Persons Offense or a Fourth Degree Crime.
As a Disorderly Persons Offense, Lewdness can put you in a county jail for as long as six months and exact a $1000 fine.
A good criminal defense attorney is likely to shield you from the toughest penalties, especially if your record is pretty clean.
As a Fourth Degree Crime, a lewdness charge is much more dangerous to you.
Charged at this level, the prosecution has evidence that the lewd act was a form of sexual gratification for yourself, and that it happened in a place where a reasonable person could expect that a child under 13, or a disabled person might witness the act.
This charge carries a sentence of up to 18 months in state prison, and a fine of up to $10,000.
Lewdness is a serious offense in New Jersey that can wipe out your future.
Call attorney Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 and get experienced help against lewdness charges in New Jersey.