New Jersey Penalties For Motor Vehicles; Removal Or Alteration Of Identification Number Or Mark; Possession (N.J.S.A. 2C:17-6) Charges
As with other theft crimes, charges related to Removal or Alteration of Identification Number or Mark; Possession (N.J.S.A. 2C:17-6) are often graded according to the value of the vehicle or automotive part in question.
For instance, possessing a vehicle or part worth less than $200 whose identifying information has been removed or obscured is a disorderly persons offense, with a maximum sentence of six months and a fine of $1,000, though it’s unlikely you’ll be sentenced to jail at all.
However, when the value increases to more than $200 but less than $500, you’ll be charged with a crime of the fourth degree, equivalent to a low felony in other states.
While you can be sentenced to up to 18 months at this level, for first offenders that would be an extremely unusual sentence.
When the value exceeds $500, or when you are charged with personally removing, defacing, or obscuring the identification number or mark for any unlawful purpose, you’ll be charged with a crime of the third degree.
This can result in a sentence of three to five years, and is obviously a cause for concern.
If you are facing charges involving the removal or alteration of a VIN number, it’s important to seek help. An experienced criminal defense attorney can make a big difference in your case and its outcome.
Call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 and talk to an experienced New Jersey criminal defense lawyer for free.