A practicing psychologist in New Jersey is required to hold a license from the State Board of Psychological Examiners. Any person who knowingly engages in the following conduct, without a license, or when the license has been suspended, revoked, or limited by an order of the Board, can be charged with a third degree crime under N.J.S.A. 2C:21-20.2, Unauthorized Practice of Psychology:
- Practicing psychology
- Exceeding the scope of practice permitted by board order
- Presenting yourself as licensed to practice in the state
- Engaging in activity that requires the license as a prerequisite
- Practicing under the name of another person who is licensed.
A conviction of Unauthorized Practice of Psychology in NJ doesn’t just put you in jeopardy of a prison sentence of three to five years and a fine of $15,000. It also means you’ll face additional disciplinary action by the Board, and are exposed to the risk of civil action by patients who feel duped. Being convicted of the charges likely means an untimely end to your career, but you can fight back.
Matthew Reisig has protected the rights and freedoms of clients charged with a variety of crimes in New Jersey for nearly 20 years. When you’re faced with potentially career-ending allegations, call 732-625-9661 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.