New Jersey Penalties For Unlicensed Entry Of Structures; Defiant Trespasser; Peering Into Dwelling Places (N.J.S.A. 2C:18-3) Charges
There are varying grades of offenses along the spectrum of trespassing in New Jersey, and the statute N.J.S.A. 2C:18-3, Unlicensed Entry of Structures; Defiant Trespasser; Peering into Dwelling Places, focuses on three specific types of conduct.
Most of the circumstances described in the statute are crimes of the fourth degree, with a possible 18 month sentence, and $10,000 in fines, if convicted.
The primary exception is entering or remaining in a structure you are not authorized to be in despite trespass signs, warnings, or enclosures that are self-evidently intended to prevent intruders.
Known as Defiant Trespass, this conduct is classified as a petty disorderly persons offense and can be punished by up to 30 days in jail and a $500 fine.
Peering into a dwelling with the intention of invading a person’s privacy is graded as a crime of the fourth degree, as is the conduct of unauthorized entry or surreptitiously remaining on specified types of property, such as nuclear power plants, sewage treatment plants, schools, within the security checkpoints at airports, and on property belonging to utility companies.
Illegally entering or surreptitiously remaining on property not specified under the statute is a disorderly persons offense, and carries a maximum six month sentence, and fines of $1,000.
Charges like these have the potential to cause big problems for you. While crimes of the fourth degree generally carry a presumption of non-incarceration, a prior record may bring that presumption into question.
When you have charges under N.J.S.A. 2C:18-3 that are part of a larger indictment, you especially need experienced legal help right away.
Matthew Reisig has defended people throughout New Jersey against serious criminal charges for nearly two decades.
Call 732-625-9661 today and talk to an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney for free.