Similarly to Perjury and False Swearing, providing written false statements to public servants is a violation. While Unsworn Falsification to Authorities (N.J.S.A. 2C:28-3) is not penalized as harshly as those statutes, conviction would be a black mark on your record.
The charge itself is a disorderly persons offense, and applies when you, with purpose to mislead a public servant in performing his function, makes a written false statement you don’t believe to be true, purposely create a false impression in a written application through omission, support a claim on false writings, or submits or relies on any false document, map, or other object that you know to be false.
A disorderly persons offense like 2C:28-3 can be punished by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000, and you may be subject to prosecution for other crimes related to Unsworn Falsification to Authorities charges in NJ. It’s vital that you take these charges seriously and work with an attorney who can rebut the allegations against you.
Matthew Reisig has defended clients in New Jersey for nearly 20 years, and can help you avoid the worst consequences of conviction. Call 732-625-9661 today for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.