New Jersey takes a strong stance when it comes to supporting one’s children or spouse, as ordered by a court or child support authority. Under the Willful Nonsupport (N.J.S.A. 2C:24-5) statute, you can be charged with a crime of the fourth degree if you willfully fail to provide support which you can provide and which you know you are legally obliged to provide to your spouse, child, or other dependent.
If convicted of Willful Nonsupport charges in NJ, you can face up to 18 months in prison, on top of orders for restitution and fines of up to $10,000. Judges have wide discretion in how you serve a sentence, and can order you to community service for all or part of your period of incarceration where that is a just outcome.
Willful Nonsupport is a charge that can have a big impact on your standing in the community. Allegations that you’ve abandoned your children or defied a court order can have impacts for you personally and professionally. When you’re facing charges under N.J.S.A. 2C:24-5, call Matthew Reisig right away at 732-625-9661 and talk to an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney for free.