Growing marijuana in New Jersey is charged as “cultivation,” and is a serious crime. Penalties depend on the number of plants being grown.
For fewer than 10 plants, growers face the potential of 3-5 years in state prison and a fine of $25,000. Cultivation of between 10 and 49 plants will put you away for 5-10 years, with a $150,000 fine.
Growing more than 50 plants carries a sentence of between 10-20 years, and a $300,000 fine.
There are defenses for cultivation charges, including challenging the legality of the search that discovered the plants and following the chain of evidence back to look for weak links that may cause problems for police in court.
When your future is at risk, don’t wait to get help.
Call Matthew Reisig at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey drug crimes defense lawyer.