While New Jersey and the country are in the midst of reconsidering marijuana policies, for the time being, marijuana remains illegal here, and selling it is a serious crime.
Depending on the weight of the drugs involved, penalties may be as small as 18 months or as large as 20 years in prison.
First, “marijuana” means three different things under the law. There’s the dried plant matter (marijuana), then there’s hashish, and then there are the plants themselves. Each carry their own consequences for possession and sale.
Selling less than one ounce of marijuana, or less than 5 grams of hashish, is a Fourth Degree crime that carries a penalty of 18 months – 3 years in prison, plus fines.
Sales of more than one ounce, but less than five pounds of marijuana, or between five grams and one ounce of hashish, are Third Degree offenses, carrying potential sentences of 3-5 years in prison.
Quantities between 5-25 pounds, possession of between 10-50 plants, or possessing hashish between 1-5 pounds, is a Second Degree offense, with penalties between 5-10 years.
A First Degree marijuana trafficking offense is quantities in excess of 25 pounds, more than 50 plants, or more than five pounds of hashish.
Penalties for First Degree crimes are 10-20 years in prison, with one-third to one-half to be served without eligibility for parole.
Drug trafficking crimes in New Jersey also result in forfeiture of cars, homes, cash, and other property connected to the activity.
It is absolutely a charge that has the potential to wreck the rest of your life. Call Matthew Reisig right away at 732-625-9661 and get an experienced New Jersey drug defense lawyer on your side.