New Jersey Penalties For Aggravated Assault (N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1(b)) Charges
Aggravated Assault (N.J.S.A 2C:12-1(b)) in New Jersey may be charged at a variety of levels, based on the specifics of the conduct in question.
For instance, a defendant who is accused of recklessly causing bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon can be charged at the fourth degree crime level and face up to 18 months in jail.
An attempt to cause, or purposely and knowingly causing bodily injury to another, is a crime of the third degree, with a sentence of up to five years if convicted.
Recklessly causing serious bodily injury to another under circumstances manifesting an extreme indifference to the value of human life is a second degree crime, and you could go to prison for up to 10 years if convicted.
Obviously, a great deal depends on the facts of your case, and more importantly, what the prosecution can prove.
An experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney can help you build the strongest possible case in your defense.
Attorney Matthew Reisig has been helping people in New Jersey facing Aggravated Assault charges for more than 17 years.
If you or a family member need help with Aggravated Assault charges, call 732-625-9661 today and talk to an experienced New Jersey Aggravated Assault defense attorney for free.