New Jersey Penalties For Assault (N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1) Charges
In most states, minor crimes whose punishment is less than a year are known as misdemeanors, while more serious crimes with longer sentencing options are called felonies.
In New Jersey, misdemeanor-level violations are charged as disorderly persons offenses or petty disorderly persons offenses.
Assault (N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1), often referred to as Simple Assault, is typically charged as a disorderly persons offense and puts you at risk for up to six months in jail.
The exception is where the parties involved in the altercation entered into it by mutual consent.
In that case, the charge is a petty disorderly persons offense, with a maximum sentence of 30 days.
Assault charges at any level can cause you problems down the road.
If you are subsequently charged with a crime, the existence of a past conviction for an act of violence can increase your charges and expose you to significantly longer sentencing than you’d otherwise face.
It’s important that you take every step available to protect yourself and secure your future.
Attorney Matthew Reisig has more than 17 years of experience protecting people in New Jersey facing Assault charges.
If you need help with Assault charges, call 732-625-9661 today for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.