In most cases, stalking will be charged as a fourth degree crime in New Jersey, which carries a potential sentence of 18 months in prison, plus fines that can reach $10,000.
There are circumstances that will bump the charge to a third degree crime, which can increase the possible prison time to three to five years.
As a third degree stalking charge, the prosecution will have to prove that you engaged in stalking behaviors that violated a restraining order, while you were on parole or probation, or that it is a second offense, and you have been convicted of stalking in the past.
These charges are extremely serious, and will leave you with a criminal record if you are convicted.
Call attorney Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.