Harassment in New Jersey is nearly always prosecuted as a petty disorderly persons offense, which carries a maximum jail sentence of 30 days, a fine of up to $500, and possible community service and other fines.
If you happen to be incarcerated or on parole or probation at the time of the offense, you may be charged with a fourth degree crime, which can land you an 18 month sentence and a $10,000 fine.
Whatever level you’re charged at, your case can be helped tremendously when you choose to work with an attorney.
A New Jersey criminal defense attorney knows how to question evidence that the prosecution puts into the record, and present a case that rebuts key information prosecutors rely on.
Call attorney Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 and talk to an experienced New Jersey harassment attorney for free.