New Jersey Criminal Defense Lawyer For Those Arrested On Possession Of Controlled Dangerous Substance (“CDS”) (N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10)
N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10, Possession of Controlled Dangerous Substance, is a wide ranging statute that makes it illegal to obtain or possess (either actually or “constructively”) a controlled dangerous substance, or its analog, unless obtained with a legal prescription.
It also makes the use of controlled dangerous substances or a controlled dangerous substance analog a disorderly person offense.
The seriousness of the charge will be based on the type of drug in question.
Marijuana and hashish are handled differently than other scheduled drugs, with small amounts (less than 50 grams of marijuana or 5 grams of hashish) being graded as disorderly person offenses, while amounts over 50 grams or 5 grams of hashish are fourth degree crimes, with a potential sentence of up to 18 months.
Drugs that are scheduled as I, II, III, or IV are charged as third degree crimes with a potential sentence of 3-5 years.
Schedule V drugs are prosecuted as fourth degree crimes similarly to larger amounts of marijuana.
An experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney offers you the best chance to avoid serious criminal sanction, or even conviction of possession of controlled dangerous substance altogether.
Call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey possession of controlled dangerous substance defense attorney.