Reckless Endangerment (N.J.S.A. 2C:12-2) Defense Attorney In New Jersey
Reckless Endangerment (N.J.S.A. 2C:12-3) has several parts in New Jersey statute, and is designed to criminalize certain behaviors that put others at risk of injury or death.
In the first part, knowingly putting up a false light that results in loss or destruction of a vessel will be charged as a Third Degree crime.
Sentences can range from 3 – 5 years, with fines of up to $15,000.
If you manufacture or sell a golf ball filled with corrosive fluids or acids, you will be charged with a Fourth Degree crime and face a potential sentence of 18 months and fines of up to $10,000.
The same is true if you provide food, drink, candy, or other consumables that are tainted or otherwise intended to cause injury to another, except when this part is violated with the intention of causing another crime.
In that case, you’ll be charged with a Third Degree crime.
Reckless Endangerment is a very specific crime in New Jersey, and one that carries significant liability if convicted.
An experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney can protect your rights and fight for your freedom.
If you’re facing reckless endangerment charges, call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation.