Sexual Assault (2C:14-2(b) and 2C:14-2(c)) is a Second Degree Crime in New Jersey, and those accused of it are alleged to have met one or more of the following conditions:
● Sexual contact with a victim who is less than 13 years of age, where the actor is at least four years older than the victim.
● Where the actor engages in penetration with a victim using physical force or coercion, but the victim did not suffer severe personal injury
● Where there is penetration and the victim is on probation, parole, or detained in another facility, and the actor has supervisory or disciplinary control over the victim by virtue of the actor’s legal or professional status.
● Where there is penetration and the victim is between 16 and 18 years old and; the actor is related to the victim by blood or affinity to the third degree; the actor has supervisory or disciplinary power over the victim in any capacity; or the actor is a guardian, family resource parent, or stands in loco parentis for the victim.
● Where the victim is between 13 and 16 and the actor is more than four years older.
Conviction of Sexual Assault can result in a prison sentence between five and ten years.
Because of the No Early Release Act (NERA) you’ll be required to serve 85% of your sentence before you’re eligible for parole.
Sexual Assault is an extremely serious charge requiring the expertise of a New Jersey criminal defense attorney who understands how these cases are built and prosecuted.
Call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9661 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey Sexual Assault defense attorney.